DeLap Named to Newbery Award Committee

St. Thomas School librarian Dr. Alpha DeLap has been elected to serve on the 2020 Newbery Award Committee. Considered the "Oscar" of children's literature, the Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association of Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Members of the prestigious Newbery committee are considered experts on children's literature and will read hundreds of books in the process of selecting the final medal recipient.

Dr. DeLap joined St. Thomas School in 2012 as the library and media specialist. In addition, she is a member of the American Library Association's Special Collections and Bechtel Fellowship Committee, the Washington Library Media Assocation's Sasquatch Award Committee, the University of Washington's iYouth community, and a guest contributor to library blogs, including In the Library with a Lead Pipe. Dr. DeLap earned a Ph.D. in Communication and Media Studies from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, an M.L.I.S from the University of Washington and an M.A. in Comparative Literature from New York University.